Water Polo

Water polo Beijing Olympics Water polo has two sets of medals, one for men and one for women.

Venue: Ying Tung Pool

Hungary defeats U.S. to win gold in men’s water polo

Hungary has defeated the United States to win the gold medal in men’s water polo.
Serbia beat Montenegro 6-4 to win the bronze medal.

10 years ago

Other Headlines

The Netherlands have defeated the United States 9-8 in the women’s water polo to win the gold medal.
The scores were level at 8-8 when the Netherlands scored with just 26 seconds to go.
Australia defeated Hungary to win the bronze medal.

Australia has won the bronze medal in women’s water polo defeating Hungary 12-11 after going into double extra time and a penalty shoot-out.
The United States are currently playing the Netherlands for the gold and silver medal.

The Australian women’s water polo team qualified for the 2008 Beijing Olympics, by defeating New Zealand 18-1 in the Ocenia qualifying series.
Australia joins China, the USA and the Netherlands to the teams that have already qualified.
Read more: Australia women’s water polo team qualifies for Beijing Olympics

The Australian men’s water polo team defeated New Zealand in a 2-0 series win in Auckland. They have now qualified to play in the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games.